Family Workshops

Workshops provide the opportunity to explore artists’ thinking and studio practices. Taught by museum educators, each workshop includes an interactive conversation in the galleries followed by a hands-on studio session. Family Workshops are designed for children (ages 8 to 11) and adults to participate in together. See the complete listing below for topics, dates, and times. All workshops begin in the Education Studio, located on the East Building Concourse. Workshops are free but preregistration is required.

Sign Language

Sign language interpretation is available for Family Workshops. Please request this service in the comments field on the online registration form.

 

Fall 2015 Workshop Schedule

Registration for all fall workshops begins at noon on Wednesday, September 16. At that time, a link to the registration page will appear here.  If you do not see the link, remember to refresh your Internet browser.

Sail into Seascapes

Explore 17th-century Dutch seascapes and learn about the symbolism behind different weather conditions. Afterward, create monotypes by experimenting with color and texture. This program is offered 16 times; please choose one session to attend:

September
Saturday, September 26, 10:30–12:30
Saturday, September 26, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, September 27, 1:00–3:00

October
Saturday, October 3, 10:30–12:30
Saturday, October 3, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, October 4, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, October 11, 1:00–3:00
Monday, October 12, 10:30–12:30
Monday, October 12, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, October 18, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, October 25, 1:00–3:00

November
Sunday, November 1, 1:00-3:00
Saturday, November 7, 10:30–12:30
Saturday, November 7, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, November 8, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, November 15, 1:00–3:00

If all workshop spaces are full, please add your name to the waiting list here.

Contact

For information, email family@nga.gov.

Family Programs

Check out programs for younger siblings.

Teen Programs

Learn about workshops for students in grades seven through twelve.

Newsletters

Stay up-to-date with the National Gallery of Art by subscribing to our free e-mail newsletters. Select as many as you wish to receive.
Sign up