Family Workshops

Workshops provide the opportunity to explore artists’ thinking and studio practices. Taught by museum educators, each workshop includes an interactive conversation in the galleries followed by a hands-on studio session. Family Workshops are designed for children (ages 8 to 11) and adults to participate in together. See the complete listing below for topics, dates, and times. All workshops begin in the Education Studio, located on the East Building Concourse. Workshops are free but preregistration is required.

Sign Language

Sign language interpretation is available for Family Workshops. Please request this service in the comments field on the online registration form.

Fall 2014 Workshop Schedule

All workshop spaces are full, please add your name to the waiting list.

All Stacked Up!
Investigate contemporary sculpture and experiment with natural materials to create your own three-dimensional work of art. This topic is offered 17 times; please choose one session to attend.

October
Saturday, October 4, 10:30–12:30
Saturday, October 4, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, October 5, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, October 12, 1:00–3:00
Monday, October 13, 10:30–12:30
Monday, October 13, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, October 19, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, October 26, 1:00–3:00

November
Saturday, November 1, 10:30–12:30
Saturday, November 1, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, November 2, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, November 9, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, November 16, 1:00–3:00
Sunday, November 23, 1:00–3:00

December
Saturday, December 6, 10:30–12:30
Saturday, December 6, 2:00–4:00
Sunday, December 7, 1:00–3:00

Contact

For information, email family@nga.gov.

Family Programs

Check out programs for younger siblings.

Teen Programs

Learn about workshops for students in grades seven through twelve.

Newsletters

Stay up-to-date with the National Gallery of Art by subscribing to our free e-mail newsletters. Select as many as you wish to receive.
Sign up