Admission is always free Directions

Open today: 10:00 to 5:00

Sculpture Garden

West Building | East Building | Sculpture Garden

There are six public entrances to the Sculpture Garden: one on Constitution Avenue at 9th Street, three on 7th Street (one directly across from the Gallery's West Building entrance), and two on the National Mall between 7th and 9th Streets NW.

Please note that building floor plans are also available at the Art Information Desks.

Monday–Saturday, 10:00 a.m.–5:00 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m.


Designed to offer year-round enjoyment to the public in one of the preeminent locations on the National Mall, the National Gallery Sculpture Garden features works from the Gallery's growing collection as well as loans for special exhibitions.

Installations include Claes Oldenburg's Typewriter Eraser, Scale X (model 1998, fabricated 1999), and Joan Miró's Personnage Gothique, Oiseau-Eclair (1974, cast 1977), as well as new acquisitions.

Located in the 6.1-acre block adjacent to the West Building, the elegant yet informal Garden includes new plantings of native American species of canopy trees, flowering trees, shrubs, ground covers, and perennials. A fountain, which serves as an ice rink in winter, is at the center of the Garden, and walking and seating areas offer visitors a chance to rest and reflect on the works on view. The Pavilion Café offers year-round café service, along with indoor seating. The Sculpture Garden is enclosed by a decorative metal fence with marble piers and plinths, designed to reflect the historic character of the West Building. There are six public entryways to the Sculpture Garden, and it is accessible to visitors with disabilities.

The Sculpture Garden is made possible by a 1991 agreement, signed by the National Park Service and the National Gallery of Art and approved by the National Capital Planning Commission, to transfer jurisdiction of the Sculpture Garden site from the Park Service to the National Gallery.

Architects and Curators
Laurie D. Olin, landscape architect, Olin Partnership, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, in association with National Gallery of Art staff Mark Leithauser, chief of design; Gordon Anson, chief lighting designer; James M. Grupe, senior architect; Carl Campioli, assistant senior architect; and former curators of twentieth-century art, Mark Rosenthal and Marla Prather.

The National Gallery Sculpture Garden is given to the nation by The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation.

The Sculpture Garden is on the National Mall at 7th Street and Constitution Avenue NW. (The National Gallery of Art Sculpture Garden is bounded by Constitution Avenue and Madison Drive, and 7th and 9th Streets NW)

Do not touch the works of art.

Do not ride bicycles or use in-line skates and skateboards in the Sculpture Garden (either walk beside your bicycle or secure it at one of the hitching posts located near the entrances on Constitution Avenue and Madison Drive).

Only service animals are allowed.

Alcoholic beverages brought from outside are prohibited in the Sculpture Garden and are subject to confiscation.


Map Key

1) Marc Chagall, Orphée, 1969, stone and glass mosaic, The John U. and Evelyn S. Nef Collection

2) Claes Oldenburg and Coosje van Bruggen, Typewriter Eraser, Scale X, 1998, fabricated 1999, stainless  steel and cement, Gift of The Morris  and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

3) Joan Miró, Personnage Gothique, Oiseau-Éclair (Gothic Personage, Bird-Flash), 1974, cast 1977, bronze, Gift of The Morris and  Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

4) Louise Bourgeois, Spider, 1996, cast 1997, bronze with silver nitrate patina, Gift of The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

5) Tony Smith, Wandering Rocks, 1967, painted steel, Gift of the Collectors Committee

6) Magdalena Abakanowicz, Puellae (Girls), 1992, bronze, Gift of The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

7) Mark di Suvero, Aurora, 1992 – 1993, steel, Gift of The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

8) Scott Burton, Six-Part Seating, 1985, fabricated 1998, polished granite, Gift of the Collectors Committee

9) Joel Shapiro, Untitled, 1989, bronze, Gift of the Collectors Committee

10) Robert Indiana, AMOR, conceived 1998, executed 2006, polychrome aluminium, Gift of Simon and Gillian Salama-Caro in memory of Ruth Klausner

11) Ellsworth Kelly, Stele II, 1973, one-inch weathering steel, Gift of The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

12) Barry Flanagan, Thinker on a Rock, 1997, cast bronze, Gift of John and Mary Pappajohn, Des Moines, Iowa

13) David Smith, Cubi XI, 1963, stainless steel, The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

14) Sol LeWitt, Four-Sided Pyramid, 1997, fabricated 1999, concrete blocks and mortar, Gift of the Donald Fisher Family

15) Lucas Samaras, Chair Transformation Number 20B, 1996, patinated bronze, The Nancy Lee and Perry Bass Fund

16) Tony Smith, Moondog, 1964, fabricated 1998 – 1999, painted aluminum, Gift of The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

17) David Smith, Cubi XXVI, 1965, steel, Ailsa Mellon Bruce Fund

18) Alexander Calder, Cheval Rouge (Red Horse), 1974, painted sheet metal, Courtesy Calder Foundation, New York

19) Roy Lichtenstein, House I, 1996, fabricated 1998, fabricated and painted  aluminum, Gift of The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation

20) Roxy Paine, Graft, 2008 – 2009, stainless steel and concrete, Gift of Victoria and Roger Sant

21) Hector Guimard, An Entrance to the Paris Métropolitain, conceived 1902, fabricated 1902/1913, painted cast iron and bronze, Gift of Robert P. and Arlene R. Kogod