Admission is always free Directions

Open today: 10:00 to 5:00

Board of Trustees

The National Gallery of Art is governed by a nine-member board of trustees, composed of five general trustees, who are appointed to staggered ten-year terms, and four ex officio trustees.

General Trustees

Sharon Percy Rockefeller, Chairman

Frederick W. Beinecke, President

Mitchell P. Rales

David M. Rubenstein

Andrew Saul

Trustees Emeriti:

Julian Ganz, Jr.

Alexander M. Laughlin

David O. Maxwell

Victoria P. Sant

John Wilmerding

Ex Officio Trustees

Chief Justice of the United States
, John G. Roberts Jr.

Secretary of State
, Mike Pompeo

Secretary of the Treasury
, Steven T. Mnuchin

Secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, Dr. David J. Skorton

Executive Officers

The board of trustees appoints the National Gallery of Art director and five executive officers, who manage the day-to-day operations of the museum.

Director: Earl A. Powell III

Deputy Director: Franklin Kelly

Administrator: Darrell Willson

Treasurer: William W. McClure

Secretary and General Counsel: Nancy Robinson Breuer

Dean, Center for Advanced Study in the Visual Arts: Elizabeth Cropper

The Collection

Search for a specific object by title, artist, keyword, provenance, or exhibition history in our Collection Search.

See the works that are on view now in the Gallery.