Admission is always free Directions

Open today: 10:00 to 5:00

The 77th Season of Concerts 2018–2019
Mettis String Quartet with Gabrielius Alekna, piano

December 9 at 3:30
West Building, West Garden Court

As part of the Lithuanian Centennial Celebration, the National Gallery of Art, in collaboration with the Embassy of the Republic of Lithuania, presents a concert by Lithuanian musicians and prizewinners of international competitions, the pianist Gabrielius Alekna and the Mettis String Quartet. They have teamed up to present various facets of Lithuanian modern classics: from the string quartet by Mikalojus Konstantinas Čiurlionis, the founder of professional Lithuanian schools in visual arts and music, to Čiurlionis-inspired MiKonst for piano and strings by the outstanding contemporary composer Remigijus Merkelys. Lithuanian works will be complemented by American contemporary classics, such as the String Quartet no. 2 (Company) by Philip Glass, and an exciting masterpiece from the golden age of Western European cultural heritage, Piano Quintet by Robert Schumann. The concert will conclude a series of events that were offered by the Lithuanian Embassy to Washingtonians in 2018 to commemorate 100 years of restored Lithuania and to celebrate its long-lasting partnership with the United States. 

Presented in collaboration with the Embassy of the Republic of Lithuania

Photo by Gedmantas Kropis

Visitor Information


Get updates on what’s happening at the Gallery, from exhibitions and lectures to family programs and more. Sign up.