Admission is always free Directions

Open today: 10:00 to 5:00

Peter Vinograde
J. S. Bach’s Seven Keyboard Toccatas

March 10 at 3:30
West Building, West Garden Court

Bach’s Seven Keyboard Toccatas are youthful, improvisatory, virtuoso works, composed after Bach traveled on foot for ten days to hear Dieterich Buxtehude—perhaps the greatest organist of all time. The influence of Buxtehude’s extravagant and unrestrained technique can clearly be heard in the works, which present a formidable challenge to the modern-day performer.

An outstanding interpreter of J. S. Bach and contemporary composers, pianist Peter Vinograde regularly tours North America and Asia, with a recent world premiere in New York City of Michael Matthews’s De Reflejo a Fulgor for piano and digital sound. He first performed at the National Gallery in 1987.

Photo by Jeffrey Langford

Visitor Information


Get updates on what’s happening at the Gallery, from exhibitions and lectures to family programs and more. Sign up.