## NATIONAL GALLERY OF ART NEWS RELEASE

SIXTH STREET AT CONSTITUTION AVENUE NW WASHINGTON DC 20565 • 737-4215 extension 224

FOR RELEASE: Friday a.m. October 31, 1975

NATIONAL GALLERY FORMS COLLECTORS COMMITTEE

WASHINGTON, D. C. October 29, 1975. The Board of Trustees of the National Gallery of Art announces the formation of the Collectors Committee of the National Gallery.

The Committee has been created to enable the National Gallery to carry out a three-year program of large-scale commissions of works of art for its new East Building, currently under construction.

The Committee will assemble for the first time this week in Washington. Forty-two persons from twelve states\* and the District of Columbia have accepted the invitations extended by Mrs. J. Lee Johnson III of Fort Worth, Texas,

(more)

<sup>\*</sup>California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Texas and Wisconsin

## NATIONAL GALLERY FORMS COLLECTORS COMMITTEE

national chairman of the Committee, to participate.

Most first-time visitors to the National Gallery are unaware that the Gallery's world-famous collections have been made possible, since its founding in 1937, solely through the munificence of private citizens. Over 250 donors have generously added to the collections during this time. Although maintenance funds are provided by the Federal Government, no appropriations of Federal Funds are available for the acquisitions of works of art.

The Committee, which will meet annually, has been set up for three years, to provide works of art in time for the opening of the East Building exhibition galleries, which is targeted for 1978.

The East Building is being constructed as a gift to the nation through the continuing generosity of the Andrew W. Mellon family. It has been designed by I.M. Pei & Partners. The scale of the new building is such that works of monumental art must be commissioned for key locations, since suitable pieces of sufficient size are not available.

Among the commissioned works for the new building are contemplated a mobile by Alexander Calder; a tapestry

-2.

## NATIONAL GALLERY FORMS COLLECTORS COMMITTEE

design by the late Jean Arp; a sculpture by Henry Moore; and a tapestry design by Joan Miró.

Construction of the building is more than fifty percent complete. The project will provide more square footage than the existing building. The Connecting Link, providing enlarged restaurant facilities for the public, will be opened next summer at the height of the Bicentennial celebrations in Washington.

Paul Mellon, President of the National Gallery of Art, is honorary chairman of the Committee. Mrs. Johnson is also president of the Amon Carter Museum of Western Art in Fort Worth.

List of Committee attached.

Editors note: The members of the Collectors Committee have been invited by Mrs. Ford to The White House at 4:00 p.m. on Friday. Coverage permitted; contact Mrs. Ford's press office in advance, 456-2164.

END

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION contact Katherine Warwick, Assistant to the Director (Information Officer), National Gallery of Art, Washington, D.C. 20565, area code 202, 737-4215, ext. 224.

## COLLECTORS COMMITTEE

Mr. and Mrs. James Alsdorf (Chicago, Ill.) Mr. and Mrs. Walter Annenberg (Wynnewood, Pa.) Mr. and Mrs. Edwin Bergman (Chicago, Ill.) Mrs. Harry Lynde Bradley (Milwaukee, Wisc.) Mr. and Mrs. Justin Dart (Los Angeles, Calif.) Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Dayton (Wayzata, Minn.) Mr. and Mrs. C. Douglas Dillon (New York, N.Y.) Mr. George Erion (Washington, D.C.) Mrs. Charles Engelhard (Far Hills, N.J.) Mr. and Mrs. William Fuller (Fort Worth, Tex.) Mr. Graham Gund (Cambridge, Mass.) Mr. and Mrs. Walter Haas (Atherton, Calif.) Mr. and Mrs. Gordon Hanes (Winston-Salem, N.C.) Mrs. Enid Haupt (New York, N.Y.) Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Hazen (New York, N.Y.) Mr. and Mrs. Henry Heinz II (Pittsburgh, Pa.) Dr. and Mrs. George S. Heyer, Jr. (Austin, Tex.) Mr. and Mrs. George Hixon (San Antonio, Tex.) Mr. and Mrs. J. Lee Johnson III (Fort Worth, Tex.) Mr. and Mrs. Jack Josey (Houston, Tex.) Mr. Seymour Knox (Buffalo, N.Y.) Mr. and Mrs. Robert Kogod (Washington, D.C.) Mr. and Mrs. Theodore N. Law (Houston, Tex.) Mr. and Mrs. Judd Leighton (South Bend, Ind.) Mr. and Mrs. William May (Greenwich, Conn.) Mrs. Eugene McDermott (Dallas, Tex.) Mr. and Mrs. Algur Meadows (Dallas, Tex.) Mr. and Mrs. Charles A. Meyer (Lake Forest, Ill.) Mr. and Mrs. John Murchison (Addison, Tex.) Mr. and Mrs. Roy Neuberger (New York, N.Y.) Mr. and Mrs. David Rockefeller (New York, N.Y.) Mr. and Mrs. Albrecht Saalfield (Greenwich, Conn.) Mr. and Mrs. Richard Salomon (Stamford, Conn.) Mrs. Evelyn Sharp (New York, N.Y.) Mr. and Mrs. Burton Tremaine (Meriden, Conn.) Mr. and Mrs. DeWitt Wallace (Mt. Kisco, N.Y.) Mrs. John F. Walton (Pittsburgh, Pa.) Mr. and Mrs. Frederick Weisman (Beverly Hills, Calif.) Mr. and Mrs. John Hay Whitney (New York, N.Y.) Mr. and Mrs. William Wood-Prince (Chicago, Ill.) Mr. and Mrs. Stanley Woodward (Washington, D.C.) Mr. and Mrs. John Yost (Houston, Tex.)