Skip to Main Content

Benefactors: 1941–2022

Those who have made leadership commitments to the Gallery over time are recognized as Benefactors, the highest honor accorded to donors. Currently Benefactor status is bestowed on those who have made cumulative gifts of funds and/or art valued at $5 million or more.

The names of all Benefactors are inscribed at the West Building Constitution Avenue entrance, honoring them in perpetuity for their generosity.

Founding Benefactors - Panel 1

Andrew William Mellon
Samuel Henry Kress
Joseph E. Widener in memory of Peter A. B. Widener
Chester Dale
Lessing J. Rosenwald
Paul Mellon
Ailsa Mellon Bruce
Rush Harrison Kress

Benefactors - Panel 2

Frieda Schiff Warburg
Adaline Havemeyer Frelinghuysen
Duncan Phillips
Kate Seney Simpson
Harris Whittemore
Barbara Hutton
Ralph and Mary Booth
William Nelson Cromwell
Benjamin E. and Régine S. Levy
Adolph Caspar Miller
Sam A. and Margaret Lewisohn
Therese K. and Herbert N. Straus
William Robertson Coe
Horace Havemeyer
Bernice Chrysler Garbisch
Edgar William Garbisch
Syma Aaron Busiel
Eugene and Agnes Meyer
Edith Stuyvesant Gerry
Lillian S. Timken
Ferdinand Lammot Belin
Adele R. Levy
Alvan T. Fuller
Horace Havemeyer, Jr.
Harry Waldron Havemeyer
Josephine Bay and C. Michael Paul
Arthur Sachs
W. Averell Harriman, in memory of Marie N. Harriman
Robert H. and Clarice Smith
Oscar L. Milmore, in memory of Pepita Milmore
Angelika Wertheim Frink
Burton G. and Emily Hall Tremaine
Herbert M. and Nannette F. Rothschild

Benefactors - Panel 3

David K.E. Bruce
Cornelius Van Schaak Roosevelt
Enid Annenberg Haupt
David Edward and Margaret Eustis Finley
Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz
Katharine Graham
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
The Woodward Foundation
Robert H. and Virginia Pratt Thayer
Georgia O’Keeffe
John and Louise Booth
Gemini G.E.L.
Grace Vogel Aldworth
John Hay Whitney
The Kresge Foundation
The A.W. Mellon Educational and Charitable Trust
Dorothea Tanning Ernst
Doris Dick Havemeyer
Walter H. and Leonore Annenberg
David Rockefeller
The Samual H. Kress Foundation
John David and Olivia Stokes Hatch
The Mark Rothko Foundation
Stavros S. Niarchos
Dorothy J. and Benjamin B. Smith
Mrs. Max Beckmann
Julia B. Engel
Arnold D. Frese Foundation
Mrs. Charles W. Engelhard
Richard King Mellon Foundation
Family of Constance B. Mellon
In memory of Mrs. George R. Brown
Lila Acheson Wallace

Benefactors - Panel 4

The Ahmanson Foundation
Amon G. Carter Foundation
John C. and Jaan Whitehead
Joe L. and Barbara B. Allbritton
Robert M. and Anne T. Bass
Hallmark Educational Foundations
The Barra Foundation
Ruth K. Henschel
Mark J. Millard
University of South Florida Foundation
Jill and Arthur M. Sackler
John Marin, Jr.
Robert and Jane Meyerhoff
The Armand Hammer Foundation
Edith G. Rosenwald
Family Petschek (Aussig)
T. Jefferson Coolidge, Jr.
Mary Hemingway
Charles E. Culpeper Foundation, Inc.
Knight Foundation
William Stamps Farish Fund
Robert Frank
Southwestern Bell Corporation
Annalee Newman
Mrs. John D. Rockefeller 3rd
Taft and Rita Schreiber
Sydney and Frances Lewis
Guest Services, Inc.
Betsey Cushing Whitney
Leo Castelli
Arnold and Mildred Glimcher
Pamela C. Harriman
Richard A. and Lee G. Kirstein
The Woodner Family
The Avery Family

Benefactors - Panel 5

Dorothy and Herbert Vogel
Victoria Nebeker Coberly in memory of her son John W. Mudd
Jo Ann and Julian Ganz, Jr.
Catherine Gamble Curran
Mr. and Mrs. Richard Mellon Scaife
Sarah Scaife Foundation
Eugene L. and Marie-Louise Garbáty
Perry R. and Nancy Lee Muse Bass
William B. O’Neal
Stephen Hahn
Frank and Geryl Pearl
Roy and Dorothy Lichtenstein
Klaus and Dolly Perls
Edwin L. Cox
In memory of Richard H. Rolland and Hildegard Rolland Blackett
Lore Heinemann in memory of her Husband Dr. Rudolph J. Heinemann
The Morris and Gwendolyn Cafritz Foundation
Mr. and Mrs. Barney A. Ebsworth
Gertrude Laughlin Chanler
Dora Donner Ide
Christo and Jeanne-Claude
Janice H. Levin
Gaillard F. Ravenel II and Frances P. Smyth-Ravenel
Lucille Ellis Simon
Joseph F. McCrindle
Raymond and Margaret Horowitz
Roger and Victoria Sant
The Lee and Juliet Folger Fund
The Honorable Arnold A. and Joan Saltzman
Catherine B. Reynolds Foundation

Benefactors - Panel 6

Julienne M. Michel
Ellsworth Kelly
Edward R. Broida
Mitchell P. Rales
The Milligan and Thomson Families
Helen L. Porter and James T. Dyke
Elisha and Letitia Hanson
Mrs. Charles (Florian) Carr, Née Winslow
Ladislaus and Beatrix von Hoffmann
Richard S. Zeisler
John U. and Evelyn S. Nef
George M. and Linda H. Kaufman
John Wilmerding
The Honorable Alfred H. Moses and Ms. Fern M. Schad
David M. Rubenstein
HRH Foundation
Ruth and Jacob Kainen
Greg and Candy Fazakerley
Deborah and Ed Shein
Virginia Dwan
Scharffenberger Family
Christiane and James Valone
Leonard and Elaine Silverstein
Alice L. Walton Foundation
Dan and Mary Solomon
Marina Kellen French and the Anna-Maria and Stephen Kellen Foundation
Betsy K. Karel
Robert and Arlene Kogod
Robert and Mercedes Eichholz Foundation
Robert H. Smith Family Foundation
A. James and Alice B. Clark
Stephen G. Stein
Anthony T. Podesta