Skip to Main Content

Dorothy M. Richardson

British, 1873 - 1957

Richardson, Dorothy Miller; Odle, Dorothy

Related Content

  • Sort by:
  • Results layout:
Show  results per page


Novelist. She was born in Abingdon and attended local schools before working as a teacher and a clerk. She married a painter, Alan Odle. After publishing The Quakers Past and Present and Gleanings from the Works of George Fox (both 1914) she embarked on Pilgrimage, the sequence of 12 novels for which she is remembered. Making early use of stream of consciousness, it deals with the life of Miriam Henderson. The individual volumes are: Pointed Roofs (1915), Backwater (1916), Honeycomb (1917), Interim (1919), The Tunnel (1919), Deadlock (1921), Revolving Lights (1923), The Trap (1925), Oberland (1927), Dawn's Left hand (1931), Clear Horizon (1935) and Dimple Hill (1938). (Ian Ousby, The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English, Cambridge, England, 1993: 794.)

Works of Art

  • Filters:
  • Sort by:
  • Results layout:

Limit to works on view

Limit to works with online images

Limit to works of classification:

Limit to works of artist nationalities:

Limit to works belonging to editions:

Limit to works created between:

Limit to works containing styles:

Limit to works containing photographic processes:

Find works executed in:

Find works containing subject terms:

Find works with an alternate reference number (for example, Key Set number) containing:

Show  results per page
The image compare list is empty.