Admission is always free Directions

Open today: 11:00 to 6:00

Richardson, Dorothy M.
British, 1873 - 1957
Richardson, Dorothy Miller , Odle, Dorothy
Related Content

Novelist. She was born in Abingdon and attended local schools before working as a teacher and a clerk. She married a painter, Alan Odle. After publishing The Quakers Past and Present and Gleanings from the Works of George Fox (both 1914) she embarked on Pilgrimage, the sequence of 12 novels for which she is remembered. Making early use of stream of consciousness, it deals with the life of Miriam Henderson. The individual volumes are: Pointed Roofs (1915), Backwater (1916), Honeycomb (1917), Interim (1919), The Tunnel (1919), Deadlock (1921), Revolving Lights (1923), The Trap (1925), Oberland (1927), Dawn's Left hand (1931), Clear Horizon (1935) and Dimple Hill (1938). (Ian Ousby, The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English, Cambridge, England, 1993: 794.)

Filter results by:

Works on View

Online Images



Online Editions

Time Span

Limit to works created between:


  • Filters: