Skip to Main Content

Vega Quartet courtesy of the performer

Vega String Quartet with William Ransom, piano

Mozart and Mark

  • Sunday, January 21, 2024
  • 3:00 p.m. – 3:50 p.m.
  • West Building, Main Floor - West Garden Court
  • Performances
  • In-person

Meditate to the music of Mozart and the art of Rothko. World-renowned artist Mark Rothko, an adamant admirer of Mozart, famously said “I became a painter because I wanted to raise painting to the level of poignancy of music and poetry.”  Through harmony and balance, Mozart’s music exemplifies Rothko’s ideal of the simple expression of the complex thought.

The award-winning Vega Quartet, Quartet in Residence at Emory University, and pianist William Ransom, Artistic Director of the Emory Chamber Music Society of Atlanta, perform chamber music by Mozart, featuring the String Quartet in Bb Major, K. 458, "The Hunt" and Piano Quartet in G Minor, K. 478.

This series is presented in conjunction with the Mark Rothko: Paintings on Paper exhibition.