Skip to Main Content


The Serial Impulse at Gemini G.E.L. was curated by Adam Greenhalgh, associate curator, with assistance from Lauren Schell Dickens, curatorial consultant in the department of modern prints and drawings. This feature was coauthored by them and designed by Lauren Schell Dickens.



Robert Rauschenberg working on limestone, 1977. Courtesy Gemini G.E.L.

Special thanks to John Baldessari, Vija Celmins, Michael Heizer, David Hockney, Jasper Johns, Ellsworth Kelly, Julie Mehretu, Bruce Nauman, Claes Oldenburg, James Rosenquist, Susan Rothenberg, Ed Ruscha, Richard Serra, and Frank Stella for taking time to discuss the works included in The Serial Impulse at Gemini G.E.L. David White, senior curator, Robert Rauschenberg Foundation, and Happy Price provided helpful information regarding the installation of Hoarfrost Editions and Ken Price’s Cups, respectively.

Many thanks are owed to Sidney B. Felsen and Joni Moisant Weyl, who provided insight into matters large and small, and granted full access to the wealth of archival materials relating to the workshop’s history, including Sidney’s own photographic documentation of Gemini’s rich cast of characters. Additional images have been graciously provided by Malcolm Lubliner and Daniel Freeman. Everyone associated with Gemini G.E.L. deserves appreciation; special thanks to Marisa Muller, who went above and beyond, and to the knowledgeable and talented Gemini printers, past and present, who took valuable time to discuss their work: Serge Lozingot, Daniel Freeman, Peter Carlson, James Reid, Jim Webb, Tony Zepeda, Xavier Fumat, and Case Hudson.

Much appreciation to everyone at the National Gallery of Art who contributed to The Serial Impulse at Gemini G.E.L. and this web feature: Frank Adams, Jamé Anderson, Gordon Anson, Susan Arensberg, Ken Ashton, Wendy Battaglino, Ricardo Blanc, Judith Brodie, Julia Burke, John Conway, Caroline Danforth, Adam Enatsky, Lee Ewing, Michelle Facini, Lisa Farrell, Jon Frederick, Holly Garner, John Gordy, Anabeth Guthrie, Mark Leithauser, Shan Linde, Yuri Long, Judy Metro, Stephen Muscarella, Laura Neal, Nathan Peek, Virginia Ritchie, Charlie Ritchie, Andrew Robison, G. Memo Saenz, Julian Saenz, Suzanne Sarraf, Lisa Shea, Rob Shelley, Shelley Sturman, D. Dodge Thompson, Vicki Toye, Andrew Watt, William Whitaker, Adam Williams, Barbara Wood, and Deborah Ziska.